Tini Stella is here!

Baby's first bath!

The good, the bad, the detailed! Here is the long story of Stella’s birth!  She has the honor of sharing her bday with her Aunt Claire!  Born: August 26th, 2010 Weight: 6lbs 6oz Height: 19 3/4″

Stella and YiaYia hours after she was born!

I woke up Wednesday morning (8/25) at 5am feeling like my bladder was going to pop! I “ran” as best I could to the bathroom all hunched over. I couldn’t go pee and the pressure peaked and than faded slightly. About an hour later I had the same intense pressure like I had to pee so bad but once I got to the bathroom it increased in intensity and I couldn’t pee. I went back to bed and woke Barrett up telling him that I think I might be having contractions.  We started keeping track and the contractions were coming about once every 8-10 minutes but they weren’t super painful.  Barrett was starting to get concerned but I was convinced that these weren’t the real deal because I could walk and talk through them.  At 6:20 I got up and got ready for work.  After my shower I took Libby for our usual morning walk and the contractions kept coming at the same pace, about every 8-10 minutes.  While on my walk I talked to my friend Lisa and she said that it would probably be better to be walking around than laying down in bed, so off I went to work!  On the way to work I started to alert family that this could possibly be it.  My mom and dad were supposed to arrive in town on Aug 26th late in the afternoon.  When I called mom she said “Oh crap, I’m not suppose to come til tomorrow!” I hung up with her as she went to make arrangements to change her flight.  I texted Nikki so she would get the message as soon as she was awake in California.  Claire had to stop at work and than they were going to leave North Carolina ASAP to begin their 12 hour car trip up here.  I got to work at 8 and the contractions were starting to come every 6-8 minutes with the same intensity.  At this point I decided to call my doctor’s office and let them know.  They laughed and couldn’t believe I was just chilling out through my contractions at work.  They told me to call back when they lasted more than a minute and got closer together.  At 11:30am I was being totally distracted by the contractions and realized that this probably wasn’t going to go away.  I called Barrett and told him that I was going to come home and that we should probably get everything ready.  I am so glad I left when I did. Once I got home (around 12pm) the contractions started making me drop to my knees they were so intense.  Barrett had spent the morning cleaning up the apartment so when I got home he had to shave and shower.  (In his rush to hurry Barrett didn’t shave in a straight line so when we got to the hospital he noticed that the bottom under his chin was all uneven and he had a small part of his moustache was way longer than the rest!)  By now the pain so was intense I was having trouble talking so Barrett called the doctor’s office and they told me I should go to the hospital.  The trip to the hospital was probably the worst part of the whole labor experience.  Not being able to walk through the contractions was so hard! We got to the hospital and I made Barrett park in the garage and let me walk up.  He was insisting that I got in a wheel chair.  There was no way I was sitting when I didn’t have to.  We checked in to Triage and were told that while I was clearly in labor they didn’t have any rooms available for us.  I passed the time by pacing the hallway.  Finally they found a temporary place for me in the c-section recovery area.  (Little did we know, this would be were we completed the labor process 30 hours later.) Finally a doctor came and talked with us.  I guess during the questioning I didn’t answer some of the questions right because he said that I might not be in labor and that they may be sending me home.  I couldn’t believe what he was saying.  I thought I was such a wuss if this wasn’t even labor! Well he examined me and was like “well it looks like you are going to have a baby today, you are 5 plus”.  I was so excited, I went in hoping to be at least dilated to 1 cm or something, but 5 was outstanding! Some time between 1:30-2:00 we got admitted to our labor and delivery room.  I was so glad to be walking.  Everyone kept making me sit or lay down and I just wanted to walk!  Around 5pm I was getting really annoyed at the contractions, They made my whole body tense and I was so exhausted.  We decided that I would get some morphine and that would allow me to relax and take some of the pain away because I wasn’t really progressing too much.  At this time I think I was still just barely 7cm dilated. Thankfully we had some more visitors show up.  Donna Phillips, Jen and Madilynn came to hang out.  They were a great distraction and it was so great to have some local support with us! My mom was able to get a flight that day and made it to the hospital with Grandma at about 7:30pm.  By now I was ready for an epidural.  I was proud that I had made it more than half way without one but with it taking almost 6 hours to dilate 1-2 cm I wasn’t sure how much more I had in me.  I was having a hard time keeping my eyes open I was so tired.  Mom made it just in time to help me get my epidural.  What sweet relief!!  After the epidural we waited.  And waited.  They broke my water and we waited some more.  And waited.  At some point during the night, without my knowing it, my epidural started to shift out of position.  I was starting to get really bad back pain all down my spine.  Around 12am we were just hanging out in the room and all of a sudden 8 nurses came running in and started to readjust the monitors.  Soon several more nurses and doctors came running in.  They had me turn from side to side (which is impossible to do when your legs are numb!) and back again.  This is when I realized the severity of my back pain.  I couldn’t roll over without being overwhelmed with pain.  Way worse than any contraction I felt earlier.  Finally a nurse declared “this is the baby guys, we need to move”.  With that, they rushed me from the room, down the hall into the OR. (right past my family who had no clue what was going on!) The baby’s heart rate had dropped to 60bpm for more than a few minutes.  In the OR they placed an internal monitor to see if the baby’s heart rate would increase.  I stayed in the OR for a while and they decided to let me go back to my room and labor from there.  We had to wait about 30 minutes and than they decided they wanted to try to Pitocin to see if we could get things moving. I had to lay on my right side to keep the baby’s heart rate up. A nap was certainly in order at this point.  Soon an angel from heaven reached out and touched my hand.  I opened my eyes and Nikki was standing there!!!!!!  She bought a red eye ticket to surprise us and be here for Stella’s birth!!  I couldn’t believe my eyes.  I almost started crying I was so excited, relieved, overjoyed! I had hoped and prayed that she could make it, but in no way did I think that that could be a reality!  Michelle was there too! She got to be the one to bring Nikki from the airport.  So great to see them both! My doctor came in to check my progress and at this point my back was in so much pain I wanted to try to move to the left side.  It took 2 nurses and Barrett to help me roll over and at that point I was in so much pain tears started streaming down my face.  No one thought that the epidural had moved, we all just assumed it was from laying on my right for so long.  My doctor checked me and I was just barely 8 cm dilated but the right had dilated more than the left so now there was a lip that wasn’t cooperating.  My doctor decided to consult with the OB team and decide the next step.  After a few more hours they finally were able to review my case and the OB surgeon and his team came to talk to us.  They had decided that after 29 hours of labor I wasn’t progressing enough to continue that route, and with the baby’s heart rate still not as stable as they would have liked, a c-section was going to be the best thing for mother and baby.  I started crying!  I was half relieved for this to be over soon and scared for major surgery.  The doctor was so amazing and held my hand and told me that this was the best thing for everyone.  He answered all my questions and than had me sign consent.  Within the hour they took me to the OR where a team of people started prepping me for surgery. Barrett was given a space suit gown and had to wait out in the hallway.  While everyone was working around me they tried to get me to move to another table.  My back pain was like a hot sword piercing my spinal column so you can imagine how fast I moved.  No one seemed to listen when I said that my back was hurting really bad.  They kept asking me to move over and kind of just jostled me into the position they wanted.  I started crying again because the pain was so intense and I felt like no one was listening to what I was saying.  Finally a nurse saw the tears in my eyes and asked if I was ok.  I said “no, this pain is worse than any contraction I felt all day”.  This got the attention of the anesthesiologist who started asking me questions about my back pain.  I told her it was burning, shooting pain up my spinal cord.  They gave me some more numbing medicine and the pain was unbearable.  She finally decided after they tried to inject some more volume into the line and I cried out in pain that maybe she should look into the epidural being bad. Another clue that the epidural was bad was when they were making sure I was numb enough for the surgery I could still feel the poke halfway down my belly.   She took out the bad epidural and after 2 tries a good epidural was finally in place.  We waited a little to test the numbness and finally I couldn’t feel it when she poked my belly.  At that point Barrett was able to enter the room and they went through my name and all the pre-surgery prep.  After realizing that I have a possible iodine allergy and they used an iodine prep-sheet they had to redo the belly prep.  Finally we were all ready to find out if we had a boy or girl!  I made an announcement to the doctor before surgery that I wanted Barrett to say if it was a boy or girl so the surgeon reminded everyone and then got started.  At 10:52am on August 26th, 2010, Stella Grace Wimer was born!  The doctor said “You have a beautiful new baby, Dad, what is it?”  Barrett looked over and in the confusion of thinking for sure that we would have a boy stared at our baby for awhile and said “It’s a girl?!” It was such a great moment.  Stella weighed in at 6lbs, 5.9oz.  We got to hold her and love on her while they finished the surgery and than I was taken to the recovery room.  It was crazy that 30 hours later we were in the same room where this journey began.

Nikki made it!

Birthday Girls with Uncle Chris

Cousins!

Papou, Stella and Steph

YiaYia and her new granddaughter

Grandma Christi!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Nikki
    Aug 31, 2010 @ 03:40:39

    “My doctor checked me and I was just barely 8 cm dilated but the right had dilated more than the left so now there was a lip that wasn’t cooperating.” Um Steph, didn’t know this was possible! haha.

    Also, do you remember when you were signing the content, they didn’t have anything for you to sign it on. So I said, “oh i have a book you can write on.” The doctor was like great, maybe I’ll keep it if its a good one.” And the name of the book I had was….THE DARK LOVER! haha The good doctor’s face was priceless when he saw the cover. Too much fun!

    Reply

  2. Katy
    Aug 31, 2010 @ 17:24:19

    I am so happy for you!!! We can’t wait to meet Stella when we get home!! Love all 3 of you!

    Reply

  3. Stephanie B
    Sep 02, 2010 @ 14:42:29

    STEPH! what a great story! I love it! Congrats on your baby girl! Hope your family is doing really well.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

