We’re new at this…

So last night our plan was to have dinner with friends in Rochester, then we would drop Stella off with another friend so we could see Lyle Lovett at Meadowbrook Music Festival.  I was so proud of us because we left our house in plenty of time, something that has not happened since Stella was born.  (Well lets be honest, I’m never on time!) Halfway through dinner Barrett decides to ask me if I remembered the bottle.  I slowly look up from my pizza and say “OOPS!” (We had some milk thawing in the fridge, it was still sitting in the fridge waiting for me to put it in a bottle to bring with us.)  At this point it was probably 6:30pm.  We were a half hour or so from home and the concert started at 8.  Once I finished dinner Stella decided she was hungry and I fed her until about 7:00.  We were all discussing our options when our friend suggested that she might know where her manual breast pump was from when her youngest was a baby.  (Her youngest is now 9!)  Miraculously, she pulls out the pump and all the parts except a nipple to attach to the bottle to feed the baby!  We were so close, but yet so far!  We decide that our best bet is going to be for me to try to pump and then we would run to CVS to get a new bottle and then drop Stella off and still make it to the concert by 8.  We left their house at 7:35.  I start trying to pump, Barrett flies out of the subdivision like a man on a mission and heads to CVS.  Picture this, I’m in the back seat with both hands on the breast pump, Barrett is flying around corners apologizing at each turn as I am trying to stabilize my body with my weakened ab muscles!  In an attempt to be super fast, Barrett pulls up to CVS right in the front of the store.  I scream at him from the backseat to get away from the door, my boob was out! He immediately puts it in reverse and pulls into a spot in the shadows!   We drop Stella off with our makeshift bottle and make it to the concert by 8:15pm.  Lesson learned…make sure you have something to feed the baby before you leave the house!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jenny
    Sep 26, 2010 @ 13:09:34

    Completely Awesome!! I would have been cracking up.

    Reply

  2. Jenny
    Sep 26, 2010 @ 13:11:00

    I would have been cracking up, awesome story!

    Reply

  3. Jen Church
    Sep 27, 2010 @ 20:24:20

    Love it!!! Let me tell you there is never a dull moment from now on!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

