A New Staple at Our House!

I am absolutely in love with sweet tea.  I love any and all of it.  It cannot be too sweet, I will still adore it!  This addiction was starting to become a problem because I would buy it every time we went to the store.  I’ve also been on a homemade kick and thought I could probably learn to make it cheaper at home and I’ll know what is in it! Win Win!  I remember back in junior high, Nikki and I use to babysit for a family that I think went to our church. I can’t really remember anything about this woman or her kids except she would pay us in gallons of sweet tea and muffins!  She use to have a big pot of it on the stove, with all these tea bag strings hanging out and it seemed like quite an endeavor.  It actually is quite easy.  I found this recipe on allrecipes.com.  I’m in love.

http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/smooth-sweet-tea/Detail.aspx#

Smooth Sweet Tea

Ingredients

– 1 pinch baking soda
– 2 cups boiling water
– 6 tea bags
– 3/4 cup white sugar (I’ve used 2/3 cup and it was still sweet enough, Barrett likes it better with more sugar.)
– 6 cups cool water

Directions:

1. Sprinkle a pinch of baking soda into a 64oz, heat-proof container.  (The recipe calls for a glass pitcher.  I didn’t have one so I let it sit in a plastic bowl and then transferred it to an empty Arizona sweet tea plastic container.)  Pour in boiling water and then add tea bags.  Cover, and allow to steep for 15 minutes.

2. Remove tea bags and discard; stir in sugar until dissolved.  Pour in cold water, then refrigerate until cold.

It’s simply delicious.  Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

