Stella is over me!

My baby is growing up! Stella is almost 5 months old!

When Barrett went to the doctor with Stella at the beginning of the month the doctor gave us the go ahead to start her on solids.  I think Stella must have heard her because ever since she has not been totally content with the amount of milk I have to offer her!  She hasn’t really been sleeping all that well and just a little bit more fussy then usual.  Bear and I were talking about our plan for introducing solids and maybe cutting back on me pumping/breastfeeding.  Poor Stella wasn’t happy yesterday after I fed her and Barrett was at basketball practice so it was up to me to give her a bottle.  I have never given her a bottle before so I was a little curious if she would even take a bottle from me.  On a lot of the nursing sites they warn that your baby might not take a bottle from the mom.  Well I wish I could have set up a camera to record what happened next!  I held Stella in my arms and moved the bottle toward her.  She reached out with both hands, grabbed a hold of the bottle, started breathing her excited heavy breath and moved her head back and forth looking for the nipple! HAHAHA! I laughed out loud it was so cute/funny! I was like “Wow, I guess you don’t need me anymore huh!?”  She is so funny!  She downed like half the bottle and then slept like a champ! Problem solved, apparently we were just starving her at night!

She loves discovering her toes!

Stella visited me at work!

I love that this hoodie has ears!

She woke up, pulled the blanket up to her face and fell back asleep!

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Krystal
    Jan 21, 2011 @ 15:11:12

    She is adorable!!!! I have pretty much stopped breastfeeding Trevor. I still try to BF but Trevor never gets enough so he gets a bottle anyways so now he is pretty much all on formula. We have also been giving him cereal for about 2-3 weeks now and he loves it!! He is also now sleeping through the night most nights. The other night he slept for 10 hours straight!! Hope introducing the solids goes well for you. I love seeing the pictures of Stella, she is a doll!!!

    Reply

    • stephieloves
      Jan 21, 2011 @ 15:32:56

      Oh I may have to pick your brain about transitioning to formula. Any tips?? Trevor is so handsome. How lucky are you to get 10 straight hours!!! Yay Trevor! 🙂

      Reply

      • Krystal
        Jan 21, 2011 @ 17:15:26

        For me transitioning has been easy. I was trying to pump at work but not getting enough for him to have stricly breast milk at the sitters. So I would have the sitter feed him the breastmilk that I had and then she would supplement with formula for the rest of the day. That ment he may get 1 bottle or maybe 2 bottles of formula it would just depend. Then at night I would try to nurse most of the time, but if he didn’t act full I would just make a 2oz bottle or so to give him. Trevor took very well to a bottle and formula. I had some sample formula I had received in the mail from Similac and Emphil and used that up before I started buying formula. It is so expensive!!! We now use Parent Choice (Wal-Mart Brand) and he likes it just as well. He pretty much is now just on formula. When he has his cereal at night we mix it with the formula. I have also heard you can use different juices as well. I hope Stella does as well as Trevor has.

  2. Jen Church
    Jan 24, 2011 @ 17:48:20

    My advice is start with the oatmeal…it was easier on Madilynn’s tummy than the rice. Madilynn did better on Emfamil than the others. She has got the hang of both so it shouldn’t matter who gives here the bottle now…Madilynn didn’t care really care either once she got the hang of it she knew that either of them meant food! I quit nursing at 7 months and went to formula and then onto food–I must say that I think it is more tramatic for us then them! Call me if you need anything!

    Reply

    • stephieloves
      Jan 24, 2011 @ 18:22:42

      Thanks Jen! I’ll let you know how things go!! haha I know what you mean when they finally put two and two together. Stella could care less who feeds her as long as the food keeps coming!! Did Madilynn have any allergies? I know they say that babies with eczema have more allergy tendencies. I’ll look into that formula. I think I have coupons for every brand out there!! You are great! Thanks for the advice 🙂

      Reply

  3. Jen Church
    Jan 25, 2011 @ 17:39:39

    She doesn’t seem to have any food allergies…maybe more of a sensitive tummy. It seems to me that I used to get coupons pretty regular for the formula…I don’t remember if I went to their website or what. I know that I would get them from Kroger because that is where I would get it with the groceries (and diaper coupons too) at the checkout. Gotta love the plus card! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

