Lemon Yogurt Deliciousness!

Since I was so jealous that the Koulouras family got to go to California without me, they softened the blow by giving us some of their perishables that wouldn’t survive them being gone.  They spoil us so bad! 😉 Among the goodies were two beautiful lemons.  I’m not sure if everyone knows this but I gave up chocolate for lent.  I am obsessed with chocolate.  I feel the need to have it after every meal.  (Except maybe breakfast, but I think that’s because most of the time I have chocolate in my breakfast!)  I always have dessert after dinner, and 9 times out of 10 its chocolate!  I have even conditioned Barrett to want dessert after dinner. Well, since Lent has been under way for a few weeks now, we have not had too much dessert around.  Barrett is not happy with the fact that because I gave up chocolate that means he gave up chocolate.  I told him if he wanted to make dessert he could go right ahead.  He has not taken me up on it yet!  I was talking to a friend at work wondering what to do with the beautiful lemons and he suggested lemon merigune pie!  YUM! I found a few recipes but didn’t have all the stuff needed to make it.  A few days went by and those lemons were always in the back of my mind.  I stumbled upon this great blog, Bliss and she had the most amazing recipe using lemons…Lemon Yogurt Cake!  I had lemons, yogurt and everything needed for the cake! YAY!!! After putting Stell Bell to bed Monday night I went to work to make cake.  I couldn’t wait!  Apparantly, this won’t really be suprising to many of you, I accidently left the yogurt out on the counter after making breakfast a few days prior, Barrett found it 2 mornings later with mold on it so he threw it out.  I didn’t know this so I rummaged through the fridge for a good 10 mins swearing up and down that the yogurt was in there! I got as far as mixing all the dry ingredients together before I found out the cake could not be made that night.  Sad day.  Last night we went to the store, bought more yogurt and I was able to make the cake! YAY! 🙂 It turned out so great!  I even had 2 pieces!

The Recipe: Lemon Yogurt Cake

Ingredients:
1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
2 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon kosher salt
1 cup plain whole-milk yogurt (I used low fat vanilla and just used half the amount of vanilla extract)
1 1/3 cup sugar, divided
3 extra large eggs
2 teaspoons grated lemon zest (2 lemons)
1/2 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
1/2 cup vegetable oil
1/3 cup freshly squeezed lemon (juice of 1 lemon)

For the glaze:
1 cup confectioners’ sugar
2 tablespoons freshly squeezed lemon (juice of 1/2 a lemon)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Grease an 8 1/2 x 4 1/4 x 2 1/2 inch loaf pan.  Line the bottom of the pan with parchment paper. Grease and flour the pan. (I skipped the flouring part. I know, I’m a huge rebel!)

Sift together the flour, baking powder, and the salt into one bowl.  In another larger bowl, whisk the yogurt, 1 cup sugar, the eggs, lemon zest and vanilla.  Slowly whisk the dry ingredients into the wet ingredients.  With a rubber spatula, fold the vegetable oil into the batter, making sure its all incorporated.  Pour the batter into the prepared pan, and bake for about 50 minutes or until a cake tester placed in the center of the cake comes out clean.

Meanwhile, heat the 1/3 cup lemon juice and remaining 1/3 cup sugar in a small saucepan until the sugar dissolves and the mixture is clear.  Set aside.

When the cake is done, allow to cool in the pan for 10 minutes.  Carefully place on a cooling rack over a rimmed sheet pan.  Poke 20-30 holes on the top of the cake and while the cake is still warm, pour the sugar/lemon mixture over the cake, repeat as many times as necessary. Try to get the majority of the mixture into the cake.  Cool.

For the glaze, combine the confectioners’ sugar and lemon juice and pour over the cake.  Serve with whipped cream, if desired.  Enjoy!

Originally from Ina Garten’s Barefoot Contessa at Home

Leave a Reply

