Harvest Pizza

With a sick toddler and my due date fast approaching I am usually deciding dinner plans by how quickly I can be eating whatever it is we have decided on! Last month we got a little crazy with going out to eat because it is easy and convenient.  So this month I am gonna try to actually menu plan! We will see how it goes!

I found this great blog… How Sweet Eats.  She has amazing, unique recipes and really great pics of all the delicious food.  I saved like 12 of her recipes to try.  One that sounded too good to wait any longer to try was the Harvest Pizza (aka Butternut Squash, Sage Pesto and Prosciutto Pizza).

In keeping with my goal to menu plan, I actually made a grocery list including all the ingredients I needed for this recipe.  (I was so proud of myself!) I even read through the recipe before I got home and planned my attack on how to make it as quickly as possible!  Shocking, I know! 🙂

I made a few little changes to the recipe out of convenience.  I bought frozen, cubed butternut squash so I wouldn’t have to worry about cutting one of those bad boys up.  Bear recently almost lost his thumb trying to cut potatoes with our dull knives so I went the safe and easy route!   I also have like 3 lbs of feta from Costco that I need to use so I used feta instead of goat cheese.  It was a perfect substitution except along with the prosciutto it made for pretty salty pizza.  Oh and the most time-saving substitution was buying pizza dough from Trader Joes.  It is soooo good.  I bought the original and the herb dough a few weeks ago and froze the herb dough.  It made a perfect base for this pizza.

I started with carmelizing the onions because that was going to take the longest.  While the onions were carmelizing I made the pesto and spread out the pizza dough.  I also got all the other ingredients ready.  (I had to take cuddle breaks to love on sick little Stella.  She kept saying “Mommy, hug!” It melted my heart!)

When it was time to cook the butternut squash I kept it in the pan only long enough to warm up.  It maybe took 5 mins.  Then I cooked up the prosciutto while I started to assemble the pizza.  It baked in the 375 degree oven for 25 mins and turned out amazing.  It was so good.  Seriously-I-ate-half-the-pizza-good!

Leave a Reply

