Best Recipe Ever!

I stumbled upon a recipe for Butter Chicken awhile ago and tucked it away in my email file “Dinner Options”. That file soon got overwhelming so the other day I went through and weeded out the ones I actually would never try. I was so excited to find this one again. Bear and I LOVE indian food. It seemed like an easy enough recipe too. Well we gave it a try last night and it was delicious! Seriously, so good. In normal Steph fashion, I went to the store with a list and didn’t actually get all the ingredients we needed! 😉 When I was at the store the power went out and all the registers were having trouble with the credit card machine. Instead of waiting for them to fix it I decided to just get the essentials for our meal using cash and leave the rest of my cartfull behind. I thought I grabbed everything I needed but it turns out I left the can of tomato sauce. Thankfully we had a can of it at home, however it was dented. We took our chances with Botulism and used it anyways! Another thing I accidently overlooked was the amount of cream we needed. Bear specifically wrote out 1 pt whipping cream. I got to the whipping cream aisle and though to myself “hmm, this is just to thicken the sauce, we probably don’t need a big container” and grabbed the 1 cup option. (I totally missed the part where he actually mentioned a specific volume!) We laughed when I got home and bear was like “So, you just ignored the amount I requested?” I told him he should be happy I at least gave it some thought! I told him we could substitute fat free evaporated milk for cream in sauces but he didn’t believe me. He made me google it! I found this article discussing the options for subsituting cream. Bear suggested we follow this rule: “Cream sauces made with lower-fat cream substitutes also tend to have less body; to correct for that, consider adding 1 tablespoon flour or 2 teaspoons cornstarch to the sauce for every cup of evaporated milk substituted.” We chose to add cornstarch. We also did not marinate the chicken overnight like the recipe called for because, well I just didn’t read it in advance! But the chicken still tasted amazing! I’m looking forward to trying it again with marinated chicken, however, I don’t think I will ever actually use 1 pt of whipping cream. The evaporated milk option tasted amazing, and what an easy way to cut back on the fat and calories of this meal. 🙂 I hope you enjoy it as much as we did!

I’ll leave you with a cute pic of the babies on FaceTime. I am in love with them!

facetime

Leave a comment